2013 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards, See The Full List Of Winners

Africa&#39s finest came together for an evening of glamour and entertainment at the 2013 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) in association with Multichoice.

Genevieve Nnaji Funke Akindele

This inaugural edition took place today, Saturday 9th 2013 at the Expo Hall of the Eko Hotels and Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria. It was compered by famous television personalities IK Osakioduwa from Nigeria and Vimbai Mutinhiri from Zimbabwe.

The night saw most of our favourite stars going home with awards for their hard work and passion in the art of movie, drama and film production and acting.

The debut AMVCA can be compared to the “Oscars” as the evening saw in attendance important personalities including President Jonathan Goodluck highly represented by Minister of Petroleum Diezani K. Alison-Madueke, others were Actors, Actresses, Directors, Editors, Ministers, Politicians, Fashion Designers, Musicians, Journalists and many others.

Femi Anikulapo-Kuti kicked off live entertainments for the night with his hit song “Bang Bang Bang” that got everyone in the hall captivated.

The evening saw other electrifying performances from African groups and artists such as Iyanya, Efya, Banky W and Tiwa Savage who gave a tribute was also given to late singer Goldie Harvey.

Celebrities in entertainment presented Awards to their colleagues, the award presenters included Lynxxx Utunu, Helen Paul, Gbenro Ajibade , Ituen Basi, Mani, Chico Ejiro, Ireti Doyle, Desmond Eliot, Damilola Adegbite, Ike Okechukwu, Sarah Hassan, Halima Abubakar, Segun Arize , Denrele Edun, Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi, Eku Edewor, Joke Silva, Taiwo Ajai-Lycett, Uti Nwachukwu, Liz Benson- Ameye, OC Ukeje, Nadia Buhari, Gideon Okeke, Omoni Oboli, Stephanie Okereke- Idahosa, Michael Majid, Lizzy Jagger, Richard Mofe Damijo, Rita Dominic, Genevieve Nnaji and Jim Iyke.

Red carpet report and more coming soon, don’t go away!

See Full List Of Winners

Industry Merit Award
Olu Jacobs

Industry Trail Blazer
Ivie Okunjaye

Best Actor – Drama (Movies/TV)
OC Ukeje – Two Brides and a Baby

Best Actress – Drama (Movies/TV)
Jackie Appiah – Perfect Picture

Best Supporting Actor – Drama (Movies/TV)
Matthew Nabwiso – A Good Catholic Girl

Best Supporting Actress – Drama (Movies/TV)
Maureen Koech – Lies that Bind

Best Actor – Comedy (Movies/TV)
Hafiz Oyetoro – House a Part

Best Actress – Comedy (Movies/TV)
Mercy Johnson (Dumebi the Dirty Girl)

Best Costume Designer
Ngozi Obasi – The Mirror Boy

Best Short Film
Ngendo Mukii – Yellow Fever

Best Writer – Comedy
Tim Greene – Skeem

Best Sound Editor
Michael Botha & Joel Assaizky – Man on Ground

Best Movie Director
Akin Omotoso (Man On Ground)

Best Lighting Designer
Dave Howe – Otelo Burning

Best Art Director
Anita van Hemert & Chantel Carter – Otelo Burning

Best Movie (Drama/Comedy)
Sara Blecher – Otelo Burning

Best Picture Editor
Aryan Kaganof – Man on Ground

Best Movie (Comedy)
Tim Greene – Skeem

Best Movie (Drama)
Obi Emelonye – The Mirror Boy

Best Local Language Movie (Yoruba)
Tunde Kelani – Maami

Best Local Language Movie (Hausa)
A. Ali/Hafizu Bello – Faida Nura

Best Local Langauge Movie (Swahili)
Sameer Srivastava/Sanjni Srivastava – The Ray of Hope

Best Writer (Drama)
Obi Emelonye/Amaka Obi-Emelonye – The Mirror Boy

Best Television Series
Godffrey Mwampembwa/Marie Lora-Mungai – The XYZ Show

Best Cinematographer
Paul Michelson – Man on Ground

Best Make-Up Artist
Jacqui Bannermen – Otelo Burning

Best Movie Overall
Otele Burning by Sara Blecher

Photo Credit
Flytime TV

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *