Afrobasket: Nigeria Releases Team for D’Tigers


Just after the female team, D’Tigress, won the 2017 Afrobasket, the Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) has released the squad for the D’Tigers’ defence of their FIBA Men’s title in Tunisia.

Chimezie Asiegbu, the NBBF Secretary-General, said on Tuesday in Abuja that the 12-man team is in high spirits.

The team which is expected to defend the nation’s glory at the 2017 Men’s AfroBasket, is made up of eight foreign-based and four home-based players.

“They have been in camp and are expected to work together in the interest of the nation,’’ he said.

The players are Dike Azouma, Akinlolu Akingbala, Etim Akakume, Olivier Anuna, Ayodeji Akindele and Diogu Ike.

Others are Ikenna Ireogbu, Bryant Mbamalu, Ikechukwu Nwamu, Ochefu Daniel, Abayomi Odunsi and Yahaya Abdul.

Asiegbu added that Usman Musa and Anthony Koko would go with the team to Tunisia as project players who would watch the team throughout the campaign.

“This will help in preparing the two players for subsequent engagements,’’ he said.

Team will depart for Tunisia on Wednesday ahead of the competition’s opening match on Friday.

D’Tigress, on Sunday restored the nation’s lost glory having defeated defending champions, Senegal to clinch the title for the third time after 12 years.

Leave your views in the comment box below.


Share this

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *