Buhari Inaugurates Food Security Council


President Muhammadu Buhari, on Monday, at the Council Chambers of the Aso Rock Presidential Villa in Abuja, inaugurated the National Food Security Council

The Council, chaired by the President, has the governors of Kebbi, Taraba, Plateau, Lagos, Ebonyi and Delta States as members.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari; the National Security Adviser (NSA), Babagana Monguno and the Ministers of Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning are also members.

Others are the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); the Directors-General of the Department of State Services (DSS) and the National Intelligence Agency (NIA) as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

Buhari stated that the council’s objectives include developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; climate change and desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta fishing communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.





Leave your views in comments box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *