GQ Men Of The Year Awards 2020: John Boyega, Michaela Coel & Marcus Rashford Win Top Prizes

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (1)

On Thursday November 26, the annual GQ Men of the Year Awards in association with Hugo Boss took place virtually to “honour the men and women who shape the world’s cultural landscapes in sport, style, entertainment and more”.

Hosted by English comedian Jack Whitehall, this year’s event saw famous faces including actor John Boyega, singer Shawn Mendes and professional footballer Marcus Rashford take home awards.

The awards ceremony was streamed on the GQ YouTube channel and featured an hour of pre-recorded material from winners. Before it begun, there was a “red carpet” event hosted on the GQ and sponsor Hugo Boss social media pages.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (4)

Leading the winners was Star Wars actor John who won GQ’s Icon Award for using his profile to draw attention to the Black Lives Matter movement with Coel named the creative icon winner. Coel’s critically acclaimed series I May Destroy You, which she wrote and starred in, brought her to the spotlight earlier this year.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (3)

Formula One star Lewis Hamilton was awarded with Game Changer Of The Year following his work to combat racism in his industry. Manchester United star Rashford was named GQ’s Campaigner of the Year, following his successful efforts to ensure children have free school meals, and ongoing work to end child food poverty.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (6)

Normal People star Paul Mescal, who received the Hugo Boss Breakthrough Actor, has had a stellar year after earning critical acclaim for his role in the Irish drama. While, Lashanna Lynch who will play the first ever female 007 in the upcoming James Bond film No Time To Die, received the Hugo Boss Breakthrough Actress prize.

Paul Hutchinson, a personal trainer received the Humanitarian Award after gaining worldwide attention when he was pictured carrying a man to safety in the midst of a violent clash between a Black Lives Matters march and EDL counter-protesters.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (2)

While ‘Next In Fashion’ star Daniel W Fletcher received the award for Peroni Breakthrough Designer, Charlie Mackesy, whose book The Boy, The Mole, The Fox And The Horse has been a best-seller, was honoured with award for Maddox Gallery Artist.

Captain Sir Tom Moore was awarded the Inspiration of the Year, after becoming GQ’s oldest ever cover star at the age of 100. The centenarian was a beacon of light to emerge at the height of the coronavirus pandemic as he raised £32 million for the NHS and instilled a sense of togetherness and positivity in the nation.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2020 Winners OnoBello (5)

Musicians Ozzy Osbourne and Shawn Mendes were presented with gongs too, with Osbourne given a lifetime achievement award while Mendes was named solo artist winner.

Piers Morgan also made an appearance on the winner’s list as he was named GQ’s TV Personality Of The Year, having continued to present Good Morning Britain while the UK was gripped by the COVID-19 pandemic, with designer Tommy Hilfiger honoured as the design legend winner.

For more News, follow us on Instagram @OnoBelloMedia @OBStreetStyle | Twitter: OnoBello | Facebook: OnoBello Magazine

Leave your views in comments box below

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *