In Pictures: The Glitz And Glamour At The Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award Nominees Party

It was a star-studded event at the first ever Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award Nominees party and announcement held at the Porshe event center on the 28th of January 2013.

Announcing the nominees were stylish Eku Edewor and Dolopo Oni, joined by Jara co-hosts Uti Nwachukwu (Big Brother All Stars winner) and Helen Paul, Biola Alabi (M-Net Africa MD), Femi Odugbemi (AMVCA Executive Judge), Lizz Njagah (Kenyan soap and reality star) and Edem Vindah (Media and Public Affairs Manager, Nigerian Breweries PLC). Also in studio was the elegant AMVCA trophy!

The crème de la crème of entertainment showed up for the event including, Ini Edo-Ehiagwina, Genevieve Nnaji, Denrele Edun, Goldie Harvey, Uche Jumbo, Olisa Adibua amongst others.

Encompassing 28 awards in 26 categories, the AMVCAs includes 6 categories where viewers will vote for winners and 18 more technically focused categories where winners will be selected by an expert industry based judging panel which will be announced at a later date.

In total, there were 110 nominees chosen from 43 different productions from countries, but leading the way is South African hit Otelo Burning with 14 nominations while Nigeria’s brilliant The Mirror Boy grabbed 11, just in front of Man on Ground, another powerful Nigerian offering which garnered 9 nominations. Other multiple nominations include Perfect Picture (8), Two Brides and a Baby (7), Maami (5) and Skeem (5).

Funke Akindele, Jackie Appiah, Genevieve Nnaji were amongst those nominated in the category for Best Actress in a Drama while Mercy Johnson joined Lilian Esoro and Funke Akindele in the Best Actress in a Comedy category. Fabian Adeoye Lojede, O.C Ukeje, Kenneth Uphopho, Edward Kagutuzi and Jafta Mamabolo were all nominated for the Best Actor in Drama while Hafiz Oyetoro, Kunle Bamtefa, Bovi Ugboma, Francis Odega and Ikhide Isaac, nominated for Best Actor in a Comedy.


Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *