Jimi Agbaje, Ifeanyi Okowa, Nyesom Wike, Teslim Folarin Win PDP Governorship Primaries

The People Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primaries held across the nation on Monday, December 8, 2014. Below are the results.


In Lagos State, pharmacist and an entrepreneur, Mr. Jimi Agbaje, on emerged as the PDP governorship candidate for Lagos State.

According to a report by Punch, he defeated a former Minister of State for Defence and Nigeria’s ex-High Commissioner to Ghana, Musiliu Obanikoro,who was touted as the leading contestant in the primary.

Agbaje scored 432 votes as against the 346 by Obanikoro. The other aspirants, Babatunde Gbadamosi got 21 votes; Tokunbo Kamson, 46 votes and Adedeji Doherty, 21 votes.

The exercise was nearly marred by violence following a controversy which surrounded the number of votes cast by the delegates.

When the voting started, the Chairman of the electoral committee, Senator Shehu Kumo, announced that there were 806 delegates.

But when votes were being sorted, it was discovered that the number of votes cast were 863.

All efforts to get the number of votes and the number of delegates to tally proved abortive but Kumo insisted that the exercise should continue.

Amid the resistance by supporters of some of the aspirants, about 60 armed policemen formed a barricade around the ballot boxes and ensured that the counting continued.

When tables and chairs were overturned at the centre, Obanikoro immediately stormed out.

Immediately after the announcement, Agbaje commended the committee and promised to work with other aspirants.

As the tension heightened, about 200 policemen and operatives of the Department of State Service stormed the venue. Agbaje was whisked away before policemen   began firing gunshots into the air.

It was however victory galore for many of the PDP governors as most of their preferred candidates triumphed during the race in their states.

But the Acting Governor of Adamawa State, Bala Ngilari, had a shocker as he was beaten by a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Nuhu Ribadu, at the old Parade Ground, Abuja where the exercise for the state took place.

There were however boycotts and protests by many aspirants in states like Rivers, AkwaIbom, Ogun and Oyo.

See the PDP Governorship Primaries Results from different states:

  • Akwa-Ibom: Mr. Emmanuel Udom
  • Ebonyi State: Deputy Governor, Dave Unahi
  • Gombe State: Incumbent Governor, Ibrahim Dankwanbo
  • Rivers State: NyesomWike
  • Delta Stae: Senator IfeanyiOkowa
  • Lagos State: Jimi Agbaje
  • Abia State: Okezie Ikpeazu
  • Kaduna State: Incumbent MuktarYero
  • Jigawa State: Aminu Ibrahim Ringim
  • Niger State: Umar Nasko
  • Oyo State: Senator Teslim Folarin


Credits: Punch | TheWill Nigeria



Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *