Kingsley Moghalu Lambasts Fela Durotoye’s Emergence As Consensus Presidential Aspirant As Disappointing

Moghalu vs Durotoye- OnoBello

Fela Durotoye has emerged as consensus candidate through a consensus arrangement of a coalition tagged, “Presidential Candidates Coming Together” (PACT), which all the aspirants agreed earlier as part of a viable strategy and consensus-building to win the 2019 presidential elections.

The meeting’s highlight was the unanimous agreement that PACT will present a single, sole consensus candidate to fly its flag in the 2019 presidential elections.

However, a former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Kingsley Moghalu, has pulled out of the PACT alliance, following the emergence of Fela Durotoye as consensus candidate yesterday, Thursday. Mr Moghalu, while pulling out, questioned the emergence of Mr Durotoye as consensus presidential candidate, in a statement.

He said the outcome of the exercise to select a candidate of PACT has “left many Nigerians expressing surprise and disappointment. I will remain focused on the objective of providing a competent leadership that will help unite our country and build a nation,” he said.

Watch video here.

He also referred to a clause in the PACT Memorandum of Understanding that gives him the constitutional right to pursue his political ambition.

We gathered that gathered that 18 presidential aspirants initially agreed to elect a consensus candidate, but some opted out of the process few hours before the election, leaving 11 aspirants to participate. The election was monitored and observed by Oby Ezekwezili, Nigeria’s former Minister of Education, who described the process as transparent and credible. As against Mr Moghalu’s claims, Mrs Ezekwesili reiterated that the eleven finalised their memorandum of understanding and signed before voting among themselves.

“Kingsley Moghalu; Thomas-Wilson Ikubese Fela Durotoye; Sina Fagbenro-Byron; Mathias Tsado; Ayodele Favor Oluwamuyiwa Victor Ani-Laju; Godstime Sidney Iroabuchi; Clement Jimbo; Elishama Ideh; Felix Nicholas,” the former minister wrote in a tweet of the 11 participants.

For more on Breaking News, follow us on Instagram & Twitter @OnoBello | Facebook: OnoBello Magazine.

Leave your views in comments box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *