Minority Leader Elected Speaker Oyo Assembly


Former Minority Leader of Oyo State House of Assembly, Joshua Olagunju Ojo, has been elected Speaker.

According to THEWILL, he speakership election became imperative following the death of former Speaker Michael Adeyemo on April 27.

Ojo, representing Orire State Constituency, had also served as Deputy Speaker in the Fourth Assembly (1999-2003) on the platform of defunct Alliance for Democracy (AD).

Ojo, 67, was elected unopposed following his nomination by Joshua Oyebamiji (APC/Akinyele I) and seconded by Gbenga Oyekola (LP/Atiba).

When the call for nomination was made, Ojo was the only candidate nominated and seconded. He was declared new Speaker after a voice vote.

Also, Ademola Ige (Accord/Ibadan South East II) was elected Minority Leader when the seat was declared vacant following the election of the new Speaker.

Ojo, in his acceptance speech, pledged to unite the members and sustain the leadership legacies of peace and harmony the late Adeyemo achieved until his death.

He urged the Abiola Ajimobi-led Executive arm to consider naming any monument, institution or infrastructure after the late Speaker as well as complete the road to Lanlate from Ibadan saying this would gladden the hearts of lawmakers and residents of the area.






Leave your views in comments box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *