Obanikoro & Others Sworn In As Ministers By President Goodluck Jonathan


Embattled former Minister of State for Defence, MusiliuObanikoro, (Lagos) was sworn in as the Minister of State Foreign Affairs II, while Nicholas Ada (Benue) is now the Minister of State Foreign Affairs I.

Mr. Obanikoro had resigned his appointment to run for the Lagos governorship ticket under the platform of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, but lost to Jimi Agbaje.

Mr. Obanikoro’s nomination and final clearance by the Senate had been embroiled in controversy as he was fingered in the Ekiti State rigging scandal evidenced by an audio recording.

Nigerians including the major opposition party, All Progressives Congress, opposed his nomination but the Senate President David Mark, said Mr. Obanikoro’s clearance was constitutional and in line with the Senate’s tradition.

See cabinet re-shuffle

Alhassan Khaliru Minister of Health

Fidelis Nwankwo– Minister of State for Health‎.

Patricia Akwashiki‎ (Nasarawa)- Minister of Information

Augustine Akobundu (Abia State)- Minister of State, Defence

Hauwa’u Bappa– Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs

Kenneth Kobani (Rivers)- Minister of State Industry, Trade and Investment

Joel Ikenya (Taraba)- Minister of Labour.

President Jonathan also swore in two Federal Civil Service Commissioners – Jonah Madugo, who will represent Benue, Plateau and Nasarawa states and National Population Commission, Abim bolaSalu-Hundeyi.


Credit: Premium Times





Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *