Omotola, Falz, Tunde Kelani, Jade Osiberu, Odunlade Adekola, Bisola, Win At The #AMVCA2018 |Full List!

#AMVCA2018 Winners OnoBello-1

Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde

On Saturday, the 1st of September 2018, the much anticipated 6th edition of the prestigious Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs) held to much fanfare, glitz and glam at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos.

As expected, the crème de la crème of the African film, TV and entertainment industry turned out on the famous AMVCA red carpet and the show, which was hosted by the returning duo of IK Osakioduwa and Minnie Dlamini started with an electrifying performance by the critically acclaimed Niger-Delta dance troupe, Seki.

Other performances of the night include renditions by famous singer-producer Cobhams Asuquo, and Nigerian opera singer, Omo Bello who performed together with her orchestra. Nigerian rapper Falz also thrilled on the night, even as he won the ‘Best Supporting Actor in a Drama’ award.

The big winners of the night include Adjetey Anang and Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde for ‘Best Actor in a Drama/Movie’ and ‘Best Actress in a Drama/Movie’ respectively while Jade Osiberu won in the ‘Best Director’ category for the movie ‘Isoken.’

Another highlight of the night was when renowned Nigerian cinematographer Tunde Kelani was presented with the Industry Merit Award, a decision that was well received by the audience as evidenced by a prolonged standing ovation. In the same vein, the Trailblazer Award was given to Bisola Aiyeola in recognition of her growing impact in the African film and TV space.

The crowning of the night was the announcement of Phoebe Ruguru’s ’18 Hours’ as the Best Overall Movie, a fitting tribute to an event that featured many other Kenyan winners.

See the full list of winners at the 2018 AMVCAs below:

Best Documentary: The Flesh Business  – Denis Wanjohi Maina

Best Television Series: This Is It  – Dolapo Adeleke (Lowla Dee)

Best Cinematographer Movie Or TV Series: Okafor’s Law- Yinka Edward

Best Movie East Africa: 18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series): Alter Ego- Patrick Nnamani, Koye O, Moses Inwang

Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Yoruba: Etiko Onigedu- Femi Adebayo

Best Lighting Designer Movie Or TV Series: Tatu – Akpe Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi

Best Picture Editor Movie/TV Series: 18 Hours – Mark Maina

Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Igbo: Bound – Lilian Afegbai

Best Sound Editor Movie Or TV Series: Tatu    – Kolade Morakinyo, Pius Fatoke

Best Sound Track Movie Or TV Series: Tatu – Evelle

Best Costume Designer Movie Or TV Series: The Bridge- Ngozi Obasi, James Bessinone

Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Hausa: Mansoor – Ali Nuhu

Best Make Up Artist Movie Or TV Series: Tatu – Thelma Ozy Smith, Hakeem Effect Onilogbo

Best Art Director Movie Or TV Series: Lotanna – Tunji Afolayan

Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Swahili: Supa Modo – Sarika Hemi Lakhani

Best Movie Southern Africa: The Road To Sunrise – Shemu Joyah

Best Director Movie: Isoken – Jade Osiberu

 Best Movie West Africa: Isoken – Jade Osiberu

Best Overall Movie: 18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru

Best Actor In A Comedy (Movie/TV Series): A Million Baby – Odunlade Adekola

Best Actor In A Drama (Movie/TV Series): Keteke – Adjetey Anang

Best Actress In A Comedy (Movie/TV Series)  : Auntie Boss – Nyce Wanjeri

Best Actress In A Drama (Movie/TV Series): Alter Ego – Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde

Best Supporting Actor In A Drama (Movie/TV Series): New Money – Falz

Best Supporting Actress In A Drama (Movie/TV Series): Isoken – Lydia Forson

Best Short Film Or Online Video: Penance – Michael ‘Ama Psalmist’ Akinrogunde

Industry Merit Award: Tunde Kelani

Trail Blazer Award: Bisola Aiyeola


Photo Credit: Daniel Sync

For more on Entertainment follow us on Instagram & Twitter @OnoBello | Facebook: OnoBello Magazine.

Leave your views in comments box below

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *