RMD, Daniel K. Daniel, ‘Dry’, More! See The Full Lists Of Winners At the 2016 AMAAs



The prestigious pan-African reward system for the motion picture practitioners, African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA 2016) held in the garden city, Port Harcourt, capital of Rivers State on Saturday, June 11, saw Nigeria cart way 10 out of the 24 awards given. See first photos here.

Though we missed out in the Best Movie of the year and Best Director award, Nollywood still showed its might as the biggest film industry in the continent. The likes of Richard Mofe-Damijo, Daniel K. Daniel, Olu Jacobs & Joke Silva, Stephanie Linus’ ‘Dry’ were part of the winners of the night.


Check out the full list of winners below:

AMAA 2016 Award For Best Short Film

Meet The Parents – Nigeria/Canada

Best Animation

The Pencil – Burkina Faso

Best Documentary

The Fruitless Tree – Niger

Best Diaspora Short

Across The Track – USA

Michael AnyiamOsigwe Award For Best Film By An African Living Abroad

Lambadina – Ethiopia/USA

Best Diaspora Feature

Ben &Ara – USA

Best Diaspora Documentary

Agents Of Change

Achievement In Costume Design

Eye Of The Storm

Achievement In Production Design

The Cursed One – Ghana

 Achievement In Make-Up

Soldiers Story

Achievement In Soundtrack

O-Town – Nigeria

Achievement In Visual Arts

Oshimiri – Nigeria

Achievement In Cinematography

The Cursed One

Achievement In Editing

Hear Me Move

Achievement In Screen Play

Tell Me Something Sweet

Rivers State Government Endowed Award For Best Nigerian Film


Ousmane Sembene Award For Best Film In An African Language

Missing God – Nigeria

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

AbidineDioari – Eye Of The Storm

Best Actress In Supporting Role

ThishiweZiqubu – Tell Me Something Sweet

Best Actor In A Leading Role

Daniel K Daniel – Soldiers Story

 Best Actress In A Leading Role

FuluMugovhani – Ayanda

Best First Feature Film By A Director

Beyond Blood – Greg Odutayo

Lifetime Achievement Award

Olu Jacobs And Joke Silva

Best Film

Eye Of The Storm – Burkina Faso

Best Director

Nana Obiri-Yaboah, Maximilian Clausse – The Cursed One

Best Young / Promising Actor

Zubaidat Ibrahim Fagge – Dry


Written by Olufunke Edidi 




Leave your views in comments box below. 












Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *