MAMA Is Back! MTV Africa Music Awards To Hold This June

After a 2-year hiatus, Africa’s most glamourous music awards show, the MTV Africa Music Awards is finally back and will hold at the Durban International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban, South Africa on Saturday, 7 June 2014. The announcement was made today March 20th 2014 at a press conference in Durban South Africa by Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa, Alex Okosi.

Nigerian artistes at the MTV Africa Music Awards 2009 in Nairobi
Akon and fans at the 2009 MTV AFRICA MUSIC AWARDS

Celebrating musicians and achievers who have made the most impact on African youth culture throughout the year, MAMA 2014 will feature dazzling performances from Nigerian artists along with other African and international artists. The awards will also include signature collaborations between artists of different genres and cultures, which will be the high point of every show.

OnoBello OnoBello
2Face performs at the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards Eve hosts the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards in Lagos

Artists will be recognised in thirteen different award categories including Best Male, Best Female and Best New Act.This year, three new “lifestyle” awards will be added to the music categories, including the “MAMA Leadership Award” and “Personality of the Year”.  A special award, “Transform Today by Absolut” will celebrate the power of young individuals to transform the image of Africa through their creativity and vision.

Da Les with T-Pain at the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards

Fally Ipupa finds the groove at the 2009

The awards will be preceded by three stunning “Road to MAMA” events in Durban, South Africa, Lagos, Nigeria and Nairobi, Kenya, building up to the main show, featuring MAMA nominees alongside the most current local artists and DJs.   The events will take place during April and May 2014.

Tickertape finale at the MTV Africa Music Awards 2009

First staged in 2008, the MTV Africa Music Awards has recognised the talent of musicians from across sub-Saharan Africa, rewarding iconic artists such as 2Face Idibia, Big Nuz, HHP, P-Square, Liquideep, D’Banj, Lira, Nameless, Wahu, Fally Ipupa, Cabo Snoop, Zebra & Giraffe, and many more.  The 2014 awards are open to all artists whose music videos have been accepted for airplay on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) or MTV (DStv Channel 130) during the qualifying period 20 March 2013 to 19 March 2014.

Share via LinkedIn, Twitter, Google+ & Facebook. Leave your views in comments box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *