President Buhari Appoints New CBN Deputy Governor


Mrs. Aishah Ahmad, a seasoned banker, financial advisor and current Executive Director, Retail/Consumer Banking at Diamond Bank Plc., has been appointed a Deputy Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Ahmad, the creative and versatile top executive, who is also the current Chairperson of Women in Management, Business & Public Service, WIMBIZ, replaces Mrs. Sarah Alade, the Kwara State native that retired from the apex bank on March 22, 2017.

The presidency Thursday transmitted a letter to the Senate announcing her appointment, Femi Adesina, Buhari’s spokesman said in a statement.

“In accordance with the provisions of Section 8(1) (2) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2007, President Buhari urged the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, to consider the expeditious confirmation of Mrs Ahmad, who would then resume work immediately,” the statement said.

With over 20 years in retail, consumer banking and wealth management having worked at global financial institutions including NAL Bank, Stanbic IBTC and Zenith Bank, analysts surveyed by THEWILL say Ahmad, the Niger State indigene, is a perfect fit as Deputy Governor in charge of Financial System Stability, the department that supervises the Nigerian banking and financial system.

“She’s best suited as Deputy Governor in charge of Financial System Stability. Aishah Ahmad is young and sharp and going to the CBN with a lot of experience in consumer and retail banking where she has done excellently well as E.D. at Diamond Bank with over N500 billion naira under management and maintaining performance across over 250 branch locations,” a senior investment banker seeking anonymity told THEWILL.

The statement also said Buhari asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the CBN. They are to replace four members, whose tenure expires at the end of this year. The nominees are: Professor Adeola Festus Adenikinju; Dr Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi; Dr Robert Chikwendu Asogwa and Dr Asheikh A. Maidugu.

Source: TheWill

Leave your views in the comment box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *