The Honours Keep Rolling In! Chimamanda Adichie Gets Nominated For Baileys’ Women’s Prize For Fiction

Nigerian literary icon, Ngozi Chimamanda Adichie has once again hit it big by gaining international recognition for her works, as her latest offering, “Americanah” has been longlisted for the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.


Chimamanda who won the prize in 2007 for Half of a Yellow Sun is the only Nigerian and African nominated for the prize which was formerly known as the Women’s Prize for Fiction and before that as the Orange Prize for Fiction and comes with an award of 30,000 pounds or $ 50,000.

Americanah was selected as one of 20 books from the 158 that were submitted and the list would be further narrowed down to a shortlist of six to be announced on April 7th before the winner is announced on 4 June 2014.

The 20 nominees in full are:

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah

Margaret Atwood – MaddAddam

Suzanne Berne – The Dogs of Littlefield

Fatima Bhutto – The Shadow of the Crescent Moon

Claire Cameron – The Bear

Lea Carpenter – Eleven Days

M.J. Carter – The Strangler Vine

Eleanor Catton – The Luminaries

Deborah Kay Davies – Reasons She Goes to the Woods

Elizabeth Gilbert – The Signature of All Things

Hannah Kent – Burial Rites

Rachel Kushner – The Flamethrowers

Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland

Audrey Magee – The Undertaking

Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing

Charlotte Mendelson – Almost English

Anna Quindlen – Still Life with Bread Crumbs

Elizabeth Strout – The Burgess Boys

Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch

Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing

Share via LinkedIn, Twitter, Google+ & Facebook. Leave your views in comments box below.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *